Happy New Year!

It is officially the last day of 2012 and despite the fact that it’s 28 degrees outside, I’m in a great mood. There are many things I could choose to complain about in the past year, but there are far more things I can be thankful for. I spent my third holiday season with Mark and Tenaya and my first with Denali. This is the second New Year we’ve been in this house, and the longest we’ve stayed in one place. Although I still have hopes for moving to Dunsmuir in the spring, it’s been nice to not have to pack up all of our earthly belongings to move yet again. Besides, I like it here. Aside from the overpriced water and the lack of grocery store options, Montague has been pretty good to me on the whole. I enjoy having a large yard for the dogs and an office and a garage with a door-opener. It feels grown-up, even if it’s just a facade of that.

I haven’t given much thought to making any New Year’s resolutions, but I guess that’s because that’s because most of the time they seem trivial. I’m far too apathetic to care whether I lose weight or not. I’d say I’d resolve to take off my bathrobe every now and then, but I know I won’t. I’d like to spend more time outdoors, but that’s a given knowing Mark anyway. Mostly, I just resolve to spend more time in the present this year. I’ve been doing that – more or less – for the past 3 years and they have been the happiest of my life, so I don’t know if I can call it a “resolution.” – Perhaps a resolution to keep doing the same thing–only better. I certainly hope to work more in the coming year–especially after the hiatus from my “regular” freelance job. I also hope to keep expanding my horizons for other work so that I’m not solely reliant on that job and left in the lurch when it disappears sporadically. None of these things seems impossible to accomplish. I end 2012 feeling hopeful, grateful, and happy. I hope that 2013 brings happiness and peace to you as well. Until we meet again…

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

